More than three years after a deadly police chase and shooting led to the deaths of two unarmed people, the city disciplined the officers. Six officers, including Michael Brelo have been fired and six others were suspended. One officer retired.

The six officers fired were Officer Michael Brelo, Officer Wilfredo Diaz, Det. Christopher Ereg, Officer Michael Farley, Det. Erin O’Donnell and Officer Brian Sabolik. Brelo was the only officer who was indicted. He was acquitted on manslaughter charges May 2015 in a bench trial.

The officers suspended were Officer Scott Sistek, Officer Cynthia Moore, Det. Michael Rinkus, Det. William Salupo, Officer Randy Patrick and Officer Paul Box.

The suspensions are 21 to 30 days.

Det. Michael Demchak retired.

Director of Public Safety Michael McGrath, who was the police chief in 2012, said his decision about which officers were disciplined was based on a lot of things, including officer interviews and reports. McGrath said it came down to if police rules were violated.

CLICK HERE to read story


Leave a Reply