Photo of Smokey Robinson

Source: Michael Ochs Archives / Getty

R&B music icon Smokey Robinson will be the next recipient of the Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song.

The award honors a “living musical artist’s lifetime achievement in promoting the genre of song as a vehicle of cultural understanding; entertaining and informing audiences; and inspiring new generations,” a press release said.

Previous recipients are Paul Simon, Stevie Wonder, Paul McCartney, Burt Bacharach and the late Hal David, Carole King, Billy Joel and Willie Nelson.

Robinson, a 76-year-old Detroit native whose career has spanned more than 50 years, will be presented with the prize in Washington, D.C., in November. His classic songs include “You’ve Really Got a Hold on Me,” “Ooo Baby Baby,” “The Tracks of My Tears,” “More Love,” “I Second That Emotion,” “Baby, Baby Don’t Cry,” “The Tears of a Clown,” “Cruisin,’” “Being With You,” “Just to See Her” and “One Heartbeat.”

CLICK HERE to read story

source:  UPI-Karen Butler/

Leave a Reply