via BreatheCast:

Acclaimed artists Smokie Norful, Point of Grace, and Dennis Jernigan have been selected for induction in the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame. The inductees will be honored for their lifetime achievements in music during an annual induction ceremony taking place on July 28 in Muskogee, Okla.

According to NewsOK, the class of 2018 will be honored in the first-ever genre-specific induction in the history of the organization, referring to new Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame executive director Jermaine Mondaine.

“Part of my reasoning and/or thinking as new director is I wanted to try some different things, so we wanted to try genre-specific,” Mondaine explains. “That’s not to say that that’s something that we’re going to be doing going forward. It’s something that we wanted to do with this induction in particular. In times past whenever we had inductions and we had Christian artists, it could get a little weird… inducting a Christian artist with a secular artist.”

CLICK HERE to read story

Leave a Reply