Listen Live
St. Jude Radiothon 2024

via FirstLadyB:

BeBe Winans musical ‘Born For This’ took home 5 trophies during Monday night’s NAACP Theater Awards in Los Angeles.

The musical based on the life of BeBe Winans took home awards for:

Best Lead Actor Juan Winans, Best Supporting Actress Nita Whitaker, Best Director Charles Randolph Wright, Best Playwright Bebe Winans and Charles Randolph Wright, and Best Musical Director Jaret Landon!

Detroit teenagers BeBe and Cece Winans experience the ultimate in culture shock when they leave the comfort and safety of their already-famous family to join Jim and Tammy Faye Bakker’s Praise The Lord Network in Pineville, North Carolina. The televangelist couple becomes an unlikely surrogate family as the siblings rapidly rise to television stardom. After the duo achieve unexpected fame with a PTL performance of a remake of the hit song, “Love Lift Us Up (Where We Belong),” they encounter the seductive lure of celebrity and they establish life-long friendship with rising pop star Whitney Houston. Ultimately, BeBe must learn to reconcile the temptations of stardom and fortune with the things he ultimately values more.


Leave a Reply