ASCAP’s 23rd Annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards was held in Los Angeles, CA on June 25, 2010 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The ceremony honored the songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs on the 2009 R&B/Hip-Hop, Rap and Gospel charts.G

Hezekiah Walker’s gospel song “Souled Out”, written by Ernest Estee Bullock, won the top honor. Other award winning gospel songs were “God In Me” written by Erica Campbell, Tina Campbell and Warryn Campbell, “I Trust You” and “I Wouldn’t Know You” written by James Fortune and Terence Vaughn, “It Ain’t Over (Until God Says It’s Over)” written by Anthony J. Brown, and “Praise Him In Advance” written by Deon Kipping.

The ASCAP Publisher of the Year honors went to EMI Music Publishing who was honored for 22 award-winning songs. This is the 16th consecutive win for EMI and the 18th time in the 23-year history of the awards show that they have received this honor. ASCAP CEO John A. LoFrumento presented the award to EMI’s President of North American Creative Jon Platt and his creative team.

read full story

article courtesy of

Leave a Reply